A Leap Of Faith

I am reblogging this here for all its worth.  Thank you for reading 🙂

You might wonder how are family has been since my brother was diagnosed with rectal cancer which has metastasised in his liver.

Allow me first to thank you all for  your prayers and words of comfort. It is helping us a lot that there are friends who also hope for a longer life for my brother.

Since he left the hospital, I call them everyday. He needs that moral support that we can give even in our small way. He has let go and let God do the rest for his healing. He decided not to undergo that much dreaded operation and even chemotherapy later on. Just to give you an idea, we are four siblings in all and my eldest brother underwent surgical operation with chemotherapy when he was diagnosed with the same ailment back in 2003. I had mine in July 2009 with six cycles of chemotherapy. I had doubts that this must be hereditary. There might be something in our genes  causing the three of us to have the same ailment. I remember what my medical oncologist said though years ago that genes/heredity  comprises only 10%  when you are diagnosed with colon cancer.

I was listening to my favorite  radio program the other week when they had this one-hour segment called Kaibigan sa Kalusugan  and their topic was about cancer and initial cure. They are a group of doctors who believe in alternative medicine. I left a message in their program which was also broadcasted on their Facebook page. One of their personnel texted me and gave me the details of their clinic near our place here in Manila. I texted back that my brother is in the province and Manila is too far for travel. They have a clinic in Pampanga  (more than seventy km. from our  place in the province)  so last Monday, my brother,  sis-in-law and a cousin who temporarily drives for them went for consultation. I googled their way of treating patients with different illnesses and I was impressed. Even my brother was all praises for them. They are doctors too. I was even more in awe when I read that they are known worldwide and that the medicines they prescribe to their patients are BFAD (Bureau of Food and Drugs) approved here in the Philippines.  My brother was prescribed three medications and they have to come back on Monday and bring new laboratory tests that they have requested. They even told him to continue with his previous medications prescribed by his doctors at the hospital.

This is a leap of faith. Hoping  for a better health for my brother.I always remember that God does not give us crosses that we can’t bear. He will always be there guiding our paths. Going through such challenges is quite heavy both for my brother and the family but we remain faithful and hopeful  of God’s wisdom and mercy.  There is a place where He wants us to be and we are truly grateful for that.

May God bless us all. 

About arlene

And here I thought it would be easy to create and start another blog. Starting all over again but that is the challenge of blogging. This is a continuation of my other blog called Dreams and Escapes. It is still a work in progress...

Posted on August 15, 2019, in journeys, life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I send hopeful wishes to your brother and all the family that this new treatment helps his condition, and alleviates his suffering. I am sure you let him know that so many of your blogging friends are sending their prayers, or positive thoughts.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

passagesnorth.com

Oh yes, dreams do come true.

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Mark All My Words

Nature + Health

deconstructingdoctor.com

a peek behind the curtain

Flowers from the heart

simply photos of flowers

A Day In The Life

People, Places, Nature, LIFE!

The Off Key Of Life

Or….Identifying The Harmless Unhinged Among Us.

Hart of the Forest

Ancestors, Practices and reflections

All About Healthy Choices

Healthcare, Nutrition, Exercise, Lifestyle Happiness

Before Sundown

remember what made you smile

Heart to Follow

Sometimes Being Different Is Just More Fun

Gardens and Empty Spaces

Hop in, visit my backyard garden..

BookPeople

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

write meg!

Writing, Reading and Loving Like a Mother

YayYay's Kitchen

Feed the body well, nourish the soul, heal the Earth, build community, make peace, whenever possible wreak joy

Piglet in Portugal

A Creative Spirit